Review: Amy’s Organic Roasted Red Pepper & Tomato Soup

Soup is a pillar of the American diet, next to grilled cheese, macaroni and cheese, and grocery store sample cups.image

Now Amy’s tomato soup falls into one of the Shameless Consumer’s core rules: Be wary of foods on clearance that still bear the “new” label. You really have to weigh the internal conflict between low price and perceived quality (already on clearance despite being a new product).

The folks at the Shameless Consumer laboratories have dubbed this the Hoagie in the Trash Dichotomy. Common sense tells you that you shouldn’t eat a hoagie out of the garbage, but on the other hand it’s still fresh in the wrapper and doesn’t look like it’s been touched. Naturally I disagree with our on-staff health expert on the right decision.

image

The soup itself is a thick bisque that, under the right conditions, could probably pass for a watery salsa. I didn’t expect much given my history of organic tomato soups generally involving rather tasteless hunks of out-of-season tomatoes for the low low price of $10 a spoonful. This bowl, however, completely blew my expectations away.

The tomatoes not only have a nice fresh crunch to them, they are full of flavor and in abundant quantity. The broth is sweet and creamy, complemented by the red peppers and various spices.

This is probably the first store-bought tomato soup, let alone frozen tomato soup, that I would consider restaurant quality. I’d like to see how Amy’s canned soups hold up over the pulverizing process, since they presumably will be a bit different to the frozen variety.

Amy, by the way, is very humble about the fact that the ingredients used are organic. And don’t just take my word for it, I bet you won’t find a single mention of the word organic in this ingredient list.

image

I’ll bet you never got a chance to open that bottle, right? Hello?

Verdict: 5/5. Amy’s Organic Roasted Red Pepper & Tomato soup more than makes up for its price with quality. Sweet, chunky, and delicious, and chock full of vitamins. Pair it with a grilled cheese sandwich to make a filling lunch and throw away whatever I just said about health.

Calories – 170
Fat – 7g
Sat Fat – 4g
Cholesterol – 20mg
Sodium – 680mg
Carbs – 24g
Fiber – 4g
Sugar – 16g
Protein – 3g
Vitamin A – 25%
Vitamin C – 50%
Calcium – 6%
Iron – 20%

2 thoughts on “Review: Amy’s Organic Roasted Red Pepper & Tomato Soup

  1. altamisal says:

    I bought this yesterday and thought I’d hunt up some reviews. Was happy to find yours! I haven’t made it yet, but I am already thinking I will stock up on this one!

  2. David says:

    My wife is concerned about the 16gm of sugar. I wonder how much occurs naturally in the ingredients vs. the amount of cane sugar added? I agree, though, that the soup is easily restaurant quality and the best value obtainable at the store.

Leave a Reply

